Sunday Staple #SOL20 Day 8

Weekends are for catching up on sleep and relaxation. They are also time for me to catch up on all the chores I neglect on the weekdays.

One staple that I dread and must accomplish each week is laundry. I don’t mind sorting it or the acts of loading the washer and dryer. The worst part of me is the folding and putting away. So as I thought about what to pick for today’s slice, I chose laundry.

~~~~

BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP! BEEP BEEP BEEP BEEP! The dryer dings, alerting me the drying cycle is complete.

Open the top front-loading door. Pull hot clothing out and drop into the white basket sitting at my feet. Stretching up on my tip-toes, I peer in, making sure I’ve gathered any rogue socks, pocket change or other miscellaneous objects. Take out the lint trap and scrape the gray, fluffy lint from the tray.

I kick the white basket behind me. Pulling open the bottom door to the washer. CREAK… I lean down and pull the tangled, damp clothes out and toss them into the dryer above. I spin the washer tub around, searching for any small items plastered to the walls. I slam the dryer door and check the settings. Whoops! Forgot the dryer sheet. Grabbing one from the wire shelf beside the washer, I open the dryer door and throw it in. Hitting the power button, the dryer beeps, locks the door, and slowly begins to spin.

I turn around, picking up the white basket of freshly dried clothes, and walk into my bedroom. I notice the sun-streaked patch of carpet at the last moment and step over my cat, Sylvia.

I place the basket on top of my bed and pull out the item on top.

FLIP… SNAP! FOLD, FOLD, FOLD. Place in correct pile or area on top of the bed to put away soon.

FLIP… SNAP! Set down, since this item will be hung up on a hanger instead.

FLIP… SNAP! FOLD, FOLD, FOLD.

FLIP… SNAP! FOLD, FOLD, FOLD.

FLIP… SNAP! Hanger pile.

Repeating this process until the basket is empty.

I go to my husband’s closet to gather hangers for his button-down shirts. Sylvia supervises from across the room, but offers no help.

Sylvia “supervising” 

Now I must decide to put the rest all away or wait for the next load to finish?

5 thoughts on “Sunday Staple #SOL20 Day 8

  1. “I notice the sun-streaked patch of carpet at the last moment and step over my cat, Sylvia.” I love your observation and thought process of doing the laundry. When my kids were in 6th grade I taught them how to do their own laundry because I hated doing it. Since then, we all do our own laundry-even my husband. It has saved my sanity!

    Like

  2. I love all the sound words in your piece!! I also laughed as I started because this was the 3rd laundry slice I read today!! You are not alone in this chore! Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment